3/8/2012 – Happy Frideve!

When our daughter, Cody, was little, she liked any break from the ordinary routine. It could be a trip to the grocery store, going out to dinner, a visit from relatives, going shopping for school clothes rearranging the furniture, anything. It didn’t really matter what, just a break from routine. This developed into her asking “What’s good about today?” I always liked that question and the sentiment behind it. Years later, while still waiting to retire someday, I started looking for things that were “good about today”. Monday sucked, obviously. Nothing particularly good about Monday. Friday, Saturday and Sunday had their obvious attractions. But what about Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Well, Tuesday was sort of a lost cause and I just wrote it off. Wednesday already was “hump day” and that’s certainly a good thing. Finally, we decided to celebrate Thursdays as Friday Eve or Frideve. What did it mean? Not that much. It was a good excuse to have 3 beers instead of 2 and maybe stay up an extra hour watching shows like we usually did on Friday night. But it was just enough of a “special” night so that, when we woke up on Thursday and asked ourselves “what’s good about today?”, we could answer. “it’s FRIDEVE!”. Set a positive mood for the whole darn day.

Today I worked on the lifelines some more. Got everything on the port side done except for the two gates which I’ll do tomorrow. Lulu worked her cleaning magic on the Cobb cooker I bought used the other day. It’s gleaming like it was new.


Wish I’d taken a “before” shot. Believe me, it’s an amazing change. Guess it’s time to cook up some chicken and mess it up again.

Dinner tonight was a variation of Macaroni & Cheese Carbonara. It was a variation because we used some sausage I made instead of pancetta and we didn’t have Asiago cheese, Irish white cheddar, American cheddar, fontina or fresh Parmesan. What we did have was a block of Queso Chihuahua tipo Chester which is pretty damn tasty, and ‘green can’ parmesan.


But, inspite of these substitutions, the finish product was excellent. The cheese we used made it a bit milder than we expected but what are ya gonna do? Some Tabasco brightened it right up.


Of course, Lulu didn’t think to cut the recipe in half which would have been a smart move since it called for a full pound of dry noodles. But, no matter. We shared (and still have plenty for tomorrow night). Took a big ol’ slab to John, a single-hander who has shared his food overages with us as well. Also took a slab to our next door neighbor, Mike, another singlehander on his 22′ Falmouth cutter. Speaking of Mike, I need to give him a plug. He just recently completed his first novel, In Deep Salt. It’s only been available for a week or so and I’m pretty sure I was the first purchaser. It’s only available as an e-book but that just keeps the cost down and, since you can download a free Kindle reader onto your computer, smart phone, iPad, etc, what the hey? Anyway, I’m about 70% through the book. I’m kind of dragging my feet because it’s such a good yarn I’d hate to rush through it. As soon as I finish, I’ll post a review on Amazon. But, if you like John D. MacDonald’s Travis McGee novels, I’m sure you’ll like Mike’s Deep Salt novel (I understand that Mike’s got a sequel in the works). Check out Mike’s website out and read the first 3 chapters. Then order the book. Mike’s a good guy and writes an engaging story. Plus, it’s good karma to add to a cruiser’s cruising kitty when you can. Also, Mike’s background lends a believable component to his writing. Check him out.


About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3/8/2012 – Happy Frideve!

  1. Bill says:

    Frideve. What a novel idea and since Robin is off on fri. sat. & sun., why knot? (no pun intended)
    Used cobb cooker? crap, looks new to us. Good job Lulu, we can tell who does the bright work!
    Sure like this new to us blog thing, and glad you changed. Now I’ll get busy and intro Robin and I to Tate and Dani. Have a good weekend Yoders, and enjoy everything about it.
    Bill and Robin

  2. rich says:

    Hey Steve- your new blog format is coming in loud and clear for me………I use to own a Falmouth 22, Simpatico, and lived aboard her for six years. She was Hull #22……wonder if your friend Mike’s F22 might be my old boat??? I’m saving your recipes………….they are all great…..take care….
    seeya
    Rich
    SVZOSHA

    • sryoder says:

      I’ll check and see if Mike know his hull number. As to the recipes, I’m planning on setting up a recipe page sometime soon. Need to check with Serious Eats and The Homesick Texan to see if I can post their recipes as long as I give them credit and a link-back.

      -Steve

  3. svceolmor says:

    I love “what’s good about today” and plan on incorporating into my daily lexicon. Great sentiment Cody!

    • sryoder says:

      We’ve always loved it too. And it could be something as simple as getting to open a new box of some different kind of cereal for breakfast. Kept Lulu and I thinking, though. It wasn’t always easy to come up with something good about today but we had to and we always did. Fortunately, Cody was pretty easy to please when it came to finding good things about today.

      Know what the first thing I thought of today when I asked myself “what’s good about today?” It was knowing that right after I got the coffee water started I got to tuck into a container of fresh pineapple that Lulu had chunked up for me. Even though I start a lot of mornings that way, it still made my “what’s good…” list.

      -Steve

  4. Dani says:

    What a neat way of thinking about the day. Amazing what children think up.

Leave a Reply

