5/30/2012 – Anticongelado leak

We’ve been losing antifreeze every time we run the engine for some time now.  The engine has never overheated as a result but this was obviously something that needed attention.  Since we have some time here in the marina, today seemed like the day to tackle the problem.

I was a little concerned that maybe there were holes in my heat exchanger that were pumping antifreeze out to sea and then cooling the engine with sea water.  But, after what I found today, I think my heat exchanger is just fine.  However, all the coolant hoses weren’t.

There are more damn places on this engine for a hose to rub and develop a hole.  In this case, the hose was rubbing on the lower corner of the coolant reservoir.  And what a nice leaky hole it was.

Image

This hose runs from the heat exchanger back to the water pump on the front of the engine. It’s a very specialized shape and I had my doubts about finding a replacement here in Puerto Peñasco.  So, what to do?  I KNOW!  Rescue Tape to the rescue!  Again! I wrapped the end of the hose, including the hole in about 5 layers of Rescue Tape which forms a solid piece of heat and pressure resistant rubber when it cures.  Then, for good measure, I inserted a piece of a plastic “keep off the grass” sign I bought some time ago as a barrier between the corner of the reservoir and the hose.

Image

I have now added a full complement of coolant hoses to our “get-it-while-in-the-States” list.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 5/30/2012 – Anticongelado leak

  1. Joan/Raymond Yoder says:

    McIver jr. is at it again. You and your Dad. Happy with a hairpin, gray tape and a toothpick. Ha. Love, Mom

  2. Don Strong says:

    Dear Steve: Thank you for the tip about Rescue Tape. It has been ordered and will go into the box that contains stuff that I hope that I never use. Regards, Don

  3. Way to McGyver a solution! Adding Rescue tape to the provisioning list…

  4. Because this post is about engines, I defer to Mike. But good job with the ‘keep off the grass’ sign! Way to be a resource hoarder! Now that’s a solution I can relate to!

  5. s/v Eolian says:

    Steve –
    Not that getting the ‘correct’ engine hoses isn’t the best approach, but in a less than ideal situation you might have good luck taking examples to an auto parts store and seeing if you can find something out of which you can cut what you need. If you *do* find hoses that can be cut up to make your hose(s), be sure to note the hose part number, and what it fits in the automotive world.

    (I was able to replace all hoses on my Perkins using only two automotive hoses. You better believe I have those part numbers written down…)

    bob
    s/v Eolian
    Seattle

    • sryoder says:

      Bob, I used that approach when my transmission coolant hose chafed through. Auto parts stores in Mexico are a whole different ballgame. They’ll work really hard to find you something that almost fits. Then you get back to the boat and find that the ID is just enough off to make it not work. Back to the store. I did finally manage to find something that worked but the part number wasn’t worth saving as it meant nothing to anyone. Don’t get me wrong, this is exactly what I’d be doing if this leak was more critical. But I’ve been living with an antifreeze leak for months so any fix is better than what I had. And what I had wasn’t hurting anything except the anti-freeze budget. The nice thing about the “correct” hoses is that they hug the engine better than makeshift hoses would. Little enough room in the engine compartment as it is.

      The Rescue Tape will probably last forever but I’ll install new hoses when I get them anyway. Every serious cruiser NEEDS some Rescue Tape on board.

      -Steve

  6. Joan/Raymond Yoder says:

    Is rescue tape like grey tape. Love, Mom

    • sryoder says:

      Nope. Completely different beast. It adheres to itself and forms a permanent bond on itself, turning into a solid piece of rubber. The only way to get it off is to cut it off. It’s impervious to greases, etc. and can stand high heat and pressure. Amazing stuff. Here’s the link: http://www.rescuetape.com/

      Love, Steve

  7. Dani says:

    I have never heard of rescue tape!! It is definitely something we’ll need to add to our tape arsenal:
    -Duct Tape
    -Masking Tape
    -Packing Tape
    -Electrical Tape
    -Double sided Tape
    -Butyl Tape (ok it counts because it has tape in the name)
    and now Rescue Tape!

    It being blue will also give a nice color variety to the already colorful Tape box.
    Dani

Leave a Reply

