9/27/2012 – What a difference a couple of days can make

Remember last week when I removed the crusty, rusty old engine beds just before Lulu cleaned up the engine room?

The Engine Bed brothers, Crusty and Rusty.

And remember how much trouble I was having hooking up with Luis to get new stainless steel beds built?  Well, Tuesday evening I got an e-mail from Luis telling me that the new beds were finished.  Yesterday I hopped on the bus to Guaymas to pick them up.  Finished a day ahead of schedule and for exactly the cost of the original estimate, and beautiful work to boot.  Just can’t argue with something like that.  Here they are dressing up the engine room.

BLING!

Any discrepancies you might see, like the placement of the tapped holes on the ends,  are not Luis’ fault.  These are exact replicas of the old beds.

The last piece of machine shop work that we needed to be done on the drive train was to have the transmission coupler removed from the prop shaft.  Shouldn’t really need a machine shop for this but it was on pretty damn tight and I didn’t want to be pounding on it and possibly breaking it.  So, off to Luis’ I went again.  Luis was busy so his brother (I believe his name is Francisco) did the job for me.  He’s the same guy who removed the cutless bearing from the stern tube the other day, although I probably referred to him as Luis in the blog.  With the help of a hydraulic press, the shaft slid right on out of the coupler.  I also asked Francisco if he could make me a steel plate, about 1/4″ thick, the same diameter and the same bolt pattern as the face of the coupler.  “Yes, but what do you want it for?”  I explained that I could bolt the plate to the coupler with a socket or something just slightly smaller than the shaft in between.  Then, by tightening the nuts, I could force the coupler off the shaft.  “But you wouldn’t have room to do that.”  Sure I would.  “No you wouldn’t and you don’t need it anyway.  Just clean up the inside of the coupler before you put it back on the shaft.  Then, when you want to remove it, take the bolts and the set screw out and then wedge a screwdriver in the long slot on each side of the coupler.  Give it a few little taps and it will come right off.”  At this point it was obvious that he had absolutely no intention of making the plate for me.  I’ve run into this stance before and I think it’s mostly about trying to keep someone from foolishly spending their money.  I decided not to pursue it.  I’l just clean the inside of the coupler and the outside of the shaft and then make sure there’s a coating of anti-seize compound between them when I reassemble them.  I can always use the flange on the transmission instead of the plate as long as I’m very careful.  Francisco refused any payment for pressing the shaft out of the coupler.  I headed back home a happy camper.

It rained quite a bit this morning.  The rain cooled things down nicely.  I believe it’s currently about 76 degrees outside.  On the other hand, it’s too wet to do much work.  Many of the streets of Guaymas were running creeks.  Getting from one side to the other without getting too wet was a bit of a trick in places.  I’m not really opposed to getting my feet wet, but when you see all the stuff that the water has run across before it got to your feet, it can make one take pause.  But we’re loving the cooler weather.

Thankfully the rain held off until after last night’s dock party.  All of the “survivors”, those that toughed out all or most of the summer instead of heading back north, were invited to B dock for a BYOB potluck get-together.  Everyone seemed to have a pretty good time although it’s interesting trying to visit on a dock that’s only maybe 4′ wide.

A little fuzzy due to no flash and no tripod. But even fuzzy it looks better than the flash version.

The food was good.  There was everything from broccoli/bacon/cauliflower salad (Lulu’s), macaroni salad, salsa and mutli-layer dips to peel-and-eat shrimp, fruit salads, empenadas, and cheese-stuffed/bacon-wrapped jalapeños (Katie and Mark’s).  Met lots of our fellow San Carlosians including people from the US, Canada, Australia, Holland, New Zealand, and Uraguay.  Pretty cool.

So, I’m all over my cutless bearing funk and so happy that things are looking brighter.

BTW, regarding whether it’s a cutLESS bearing or a cutLASS bearing, I offer this discussion.  Obviously, I fall on the side that says cutLESS although I don’t necessarily buy the “it cuts less” argument.

cutless:

 

cutlass:

This one cuts more.

Or possibly:

1968 Olds Cutlass

So there ya go.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 9/27/2012 – What a difference a couple of days can make

  1. shabbysailor says:

    “…ahead of schedule and for exactly the cost of the original estimate”?? These guys have no future north of the border!!
    Keep up the good work (and the tales of)!

  2. Hey guys, Pete from Greece here. I just wanted to drop a line saying how much I’m enjoying your blog and how I relate to the heat thing (as well as other boat stuff and food!). Thank god it’s cooling off.
    P

    • sryoder says:

      Hi Pete. Good to hear your enjoying the blog. Yesterday felt so good. It was in the mid to upper 70s all day. Today may be a little warmer but our local friend who sells us shrimp and homemade chiles rellenos guarantees us that the heat WILL NOT last more than 2 more weeks. Sure hope he’s right. -Steve

Leave a Reply

