9/30/2012 – Oh! How I suffer!

The local pusher’s name is Alejandro.  I’m telling you this so that, if you happen to visit San Carlos, you’ll know who to watch out for.  He comes across as a really nice guy who’s working hard to support his family.  But the thing is, he doesn’t care what it costs others to maintain this support.

Case in point:  A few days ago he came around selling his “stuff”.  In this case, his stuff was shrimp.  And not just any shrimp.  These are the guys who gave birth to the oxymoron “jumbo shrimp”.  Big beautiful boogers. How could we resist?  We’re not saints, y’know, we’re only human.  But this is where Alejandro’s deviltry kicks in.  I fully intended to buy a kilo of these beauties.  But, before I was done, I had bought 2 kilos and was happy about it.  The guy’s evil I tell ya.

The other evening we had Katie and Mark (s/v Selkie) over for dinner.  For appetizers, Lulu made up a batch of “crack”.  Well, that’s what we call it anyway.  What would you call a 3-bite shrimp, wrapped in bacon and cooked until the bacon was perfectly crispy?  I dare you to eat just one.  I double-dog dare you.  Can’t be done unless it’s the last one on the plate.  After we ate these and entered food bliss, she brought out the main dish.  Shrimp Alfredo with a few vegetables so maybe it was Shrimp Primavera Alfredo.  Whatever it was called, it was seriously GOOD!  I apologize for not getting photos.  But the bacon grease was running down my arms and I couldn’t hold the camera.

Not satisfied to watch us wallow in the indignity of shrimp overload, Alejandro returned a day or so later.  This time he had chiles rellenos.  I was shocked, though I shouldn’t have been, when Lulu told me that he sold her 6 bags of 4 each.  Twenty four rellenos!!!  What the hell are we going to do with 24 rellenos?  Not to worry.  We had a few the first day and then Lulu suggested that they might make me a good breakfast.  Lulu’s pretty conservative when it comes to breakfast.  She wants either toast and eggs or cold cereal.  I don’t suffer the same handicap.  I’ll eat almost anything for breakfast.  I typically make a bean and cheese quesadilla but I could easily switch to chiles rellenos.  What could be easier?  Toss them in a pan with some hot oil, cover and cook until crisped up and the cheese is melty.

Yuuuuuuuummmmmmm…….

I’m down to my last bag of rellenos and I was beginning to get concerned.  But, in true pusher form, who should show up this afternoon?  That’s right, Alejandro.  And this time he had a big pan full of taquitos.  Chicken and beef, seasoned and cooked and rolled up in flour tortillas.  He says, “We normally have them with a fried egg on top.” Such is the nature of a successful pusher in that he knows exactly how to speak the addict’s language. Fried eggs on top?  I’ll take ’em.  So, I returned to Chamisa with 4 bags of 4 taquitos.  Sixteen of the little devils in all.  Let’s see, that’s breakfast for 4 more days.  You can bet that Alejandro will show up with something else (tamales, chimichangas) just before that 4 days is up.

And, we still have some of our original shrimp purchase.  So guess what we’re having for dinner tonight?  How about shrimp pizza!

And we still have more shrimp left.

Oh Alejandro,  have you no shame?

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 9/30/2012 – Oh! How I suffer!

  1. Ken says:

    It is amazing what you can get for a six pack of beer! When we lived aboard the local marina had several shrimp boats based there. Oh, we got some extra shrimp today, here have a couple pounds (Three lbs!). Here, we got a couple of flounder today have some. Hey, we got a 15lb redfish today, don’t tell anyone but here’s a piece (5 lbs). They did enjoy their Bud. I did too!

  2. vicki bugbee-reed says:

    This is so funny, Steve! I can just see you enjoying all the bounty from Alejandro! We only wish we were near by to share in it with you. Life is great in Oregon, and we’re having a fantastic Fall, with warm temps. and sun!

  3. You guys are killing me!!!
    Oh, do please carry on.

  4. Rob says:

    Brilliant post! :o)) thanks for sharing

  5. bud elkin says:

    Hooray! “Cooking with the Yoders” is back!! I start to salivate every time I see a new post in my inbox. I have even gone so far as change my breakfast menu to include almost everything since I know it must be a good thing if Steve does it!

    • sryoder says:

      Careful Bud. You may be putting me in a dangerous position. Dangerous for you anyway. How about some tacos de ojos or tacos de sesos for breakfast? I’ve seen them for sale but haven’t had the nerve to try either yet but knowing that you were going to follow along might give me the incentive.

  6. shabbysailor says:

    you poor bastard… lol!

  7. Pingback: 10/16/2012 – Waiting on Paul | yodersafloat

Leave a Reply

