10/15/2012 – Making Progress

The weather is actually starting to cool down a bit.  It’s still pretty warm during the day if there’s no cloud cover but it just doesn’t feel as uncomfortable somehow.  Maybe the humidity is lower.  The nights are definitely cooler making sleeping much nicer.

Yesterday, or maybe the day before, we actually got some things done on Siempre Sabado that made us feel like we are now finishing stuff instead of just adding more items to the to-do list.  Up until now, we have had 6 open holes in the bottom of the boat.  Five were for the thru-hulls that we intended to replace and the 6th was the hole in the stern where the stern log lives.  As if that weren’t enough,  I went ahead and put 2 more holes in the bottom.  I removed the old, no longer used depth sounder transducer and speed log paddle wheel.  They weren’t leaking or anything but they took up room in the storage compartment in the head as well as posing a potential risk if anything should one day cause them to break loose.  Better to just get rid of them and plug the holes.

We managed to fill 5 of the open holes in one fell swoop when we installed our new thru-hulls and seacocks.  So nice to finally get rid of the old Groco rubber-plug seacocks and replace them with shiny new Groco ball valves.

Aren’t they pretty?

Still need to install the thru-bolts but I’m at the mercy of the “Mexican supply system” as I wait for the bronze bolts and nuts to arrive.

Getting these holes filled up was a major psychological hurdle.  It means we’re actually starting to put the boat back together instead of just taking things apart.

And speaking of taking things apart, I’m not sure what exactly inspired me to remove the old sounder transducer and speed log paddle wheel.  I think what happened was that I was thinking about eliminating one of the thru-hulls and so, was reading up on how to fill the hole when I read something about a boat sinking when an old transducer fell off or something.  Anyway, I thought it sounded like a great idea to eliminate the unnecessary openings in the hull.  Of course, removing the transducers resulted in two new holes that had previously been filled with equipment.  However, undaunted, I read and re-read all the various instructions for filling holes in fiberglass boats and soon I was ready to give it a go.  The procedure basically has you sand down both sides around the hole so you have a depression to fill in.  Then, using layer after layer of fiberglass cloth and mat, bonded together with epoxy, you end up making what amounts to a very flat fiberglass rivet.  And this I did.

Clockwise starting at upper left: head discharge, head flushing water intake, head sink drain, speed log, sounder transducer.

The patch still needs to be faired but basically it looks to me like it’ll hold.  It’s as solid and thick as the rest of the hull.  I’ve been getting  a lot of fiberglass and epoxy education during this haulout.

Meanwhile, Lulu’s taking care of doing the pretty stuff.  She finished applying 6 coats of Cetol Natural Teak finsh to the tiller, the windvane oar, the pinrails and (not shown) the belaying pins.

l-r: steering oar, belaying pin rails (pinrails), tiller

When she finished that, she took over pretty-fying the ol’ Westerbeke.

All dressed up with new paint and new hoses.

The engine is ready to be put back in the boat as soon as we finish up a couple of housekeeping items in the engine room.   That’ll be another major real and psychological step towards getting back in the water.

Meanwhile, on the rudder gudgeons and cutless bearing front,  I received the Veskonite that I needed for both jobs.  However, they had sent me 4 pieces with inside slots.  The slotted pieces are used only for the cutless bearing.  The rudder bearings should be solid. Besides, as Luis Hernandez pointed out to me, the slots would make the remaining material after machining way too thin.  So, I had him go ahead and install the cutless bearing in the stern tube while I ordered some smooth bore Veskonite.  It worked out well because a fellow on a boat near us, Mike on s/v Sail On was going to Tucson and offered to bring the stuff back if I shipped it to his address.  He returned to San Carlos yesterday and I picked up my new chunk of Veskonite.

This 13″ piece will have to be cut into three 4″ pieces and then the 2″ OD will have to be machined down to 1.375″ and the 0.875″ ID will have to be bored out to 1.000″.  But, of course, this is no problem for a machinist and Luis is a great machinist.  I delivered the chunk today and he said it should be done in a couple of days.  That means we could have the rudder back on by the weekend! YAY!

So that’s pretty much what we’ve been up to.  Lulu is currently removing the old caulk from the outboard side of the caprail in anticipation of recaulking.  And I’m facing the job of plumbing in the new Lavac toilet.  I think I’ve procrastinated and worried the job long enough. It’s time to start wrenching.  Standby for heavy whining.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10/15/2012 – Making Progress

  1. vic says:

    Major Surgery 4 sure

  2. sryoder says:

    I guess I really should try spelling it right. It’s Vesconite, not Veskonite. -SRY

  3. jason thomas says:

    Your hull concerns remind me of strangely persistent damp spot in the bilge of my fathers boat. after haul-out I found that an old thru-hull had been removed, the hole covered with something that I can at best determine to be cardboard and then filled with shmutz (resin+bulking agent). No feathering, glass reinforcement, nothing. The yard did see fit to paint the “repair” at least (rolls eyes). Kind of chilling if you think about it. Glad to see you doing so much of the work yourself and it looks top notch, no surprise there

    • sryoder says:

      Thanks Jason. I suppose it helps that the only way we can afford to get anything done is to do it ourselves. The one exception will be having the bottom sanded. I do believe we’ll hire that one out. Miserable job! But be assures that we’ll be standing by to make sure it’s done the way we want it done. Scary about the “repair” on your father’s boat. I hope that kind of thing is the exception rather than the rule wen it comes to yard work. -Steve

Leave a Reply

