11/22/2012 – Happy Thanksgiving

Today is Thanksgiving and I have SO much to be thankful for.

I’m so thankful that Siempre Sabado is out of the yard:

Last day in the yard.

And back where she belongs; in the water:

At Marina San Carlos

I’m thankful that I’ve gained enough knowledge of diesel engines that, when the engine wouldn’t start after they floated us yesterday, my stomach didn’t even do the slightest little flip.  It’s just not getting fuel.  Could be an airlock, could be the fuel pump, could be something else.  No matter, I’ll work on it tomorrow (as opposed to mañana).

I’m thankful that Lulu got all the yard grime scrubbed off the topsides yesterday as well as at least a rudimentary cleaning down below.  We’re cooking and eating Thanksgiving dinner there this afternoon so it had to be cleaned up at least enough for that.  We’re not cooking the entire meal over there.  We bought a 9.5 lb. turkey breast but even that is too big for our oven or our pans. So, I cut it down the middle and Lulu’s going to cook her half atop a bed of dressing in Siempre Sabado’s oven while I cook the other half over a layer of sliced onions and carrots in Chamisa’s oven.  Her dripppings will go into the stuffing and mine will go into the gravy.  Right now I’m cooking stock from the cut-off pieces of the turkey.  That’ll go into the gravy, too.

I’m thankful that none of our new thru-hulls or seacocks are leaking.  I’m thankful that I got the refrigerator running again (an in-line fuse had been pulled apart) and got the Lavac toilet flushing right (the gasket on the seat was askew so the pump couldn’t pull a suction).

I’m thankful that on November 22, well into autumn, I can sit here in shorts and a t-shirt with the fan running to keep me cool and look out Chamisa’s back door and see this:

Ooh, ooh, ooh, lookin’ out my backdoor.

I’m thankful that we have two healthy, smart, nice, independent kids who seem to have found their soulmates.

I’m thankful that I found my soulmate and I’m pretty sure Lulu found hers as well (at least I hope so).  I’m so thankful to have Lulu as an eager and willing partner in this lifestyle, a complete departure from how she probably expected to spend her retirement years, at least if you’d asked her maybe 30 years ago.

Man, that turkey stock smells good!

I’m thankful to be doing what I’m doing and thankful that I chose a career that gave me a job that provided a decent retirement program so that we can live this life.  And, although I’m often at odds with lots of things my native country does, I’m still thankful that I was born a US citizen.  I doubt there are many other countries where I would have had the opportunity to get to this point in life without having had a much higher-powered career.

I’m thankful that my parents and my siblings are all in good health.

I’m thankful that when I woke up last night with a rip-roaring, pounding headache that aspirin wouldn’t touch, that Lulu had the right migraine drugs to alleviate my pain.

I’m thankful that the Sea of Cortes, while maybe more crowded than it was 10-20 years ago, is still far from crowded.

Ensenada Grande, summer 2011

I could probably go on and on but I think you get the idea.  I, in no way, take my good fortune for granted.  Some was a result of hard work and good planning but much of it was due to pure old luck.

AND:

Lest we forget: it was 49 years ago today that President John F. Kennedy was assassinated.  I’m still not convinced that Lee Harvey Oswald was the assassin and, if he was, that he was working alone.  I’d be especially thankful to have the straight scoop on what really transpired that day in Dallas.

Hope your turkey is moist, your spuds are piled high and there’s plenty of gravy to go around.  Happy Thanksgiving you all.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 11/22/2012 – Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Joan/Raymond Yoder says:

    Steve and LuAnn: I back you 100 % in all of your thanks. I am especially thankful to have your Dad with us after the scare with the quadruple by pass and stroke. Love, Mom

  2. Tate says:

    And we’re thankful for all the cool people we get to meet on the internet like you folks.

    PS. Tip from a coon ass. Make a dark roux and combine with the turkey drippings and a small amount of the turkey stock and you’ll have the richest gravy you’ve ever tasted.

  3. Dani says:

    Siempre Sabado is looking wonderful! Happy Thanksgiving to you too :D. We all have alot to be thankful for.

    I didn’t see being a Westsail owner on that list…

  4. cody says:

    That was a great blog entry. I too am thankful for you and Mom and that I can happily say you are living your dream. Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Kyra says:

    Your blog entry made me smile. Gratitude goes such a long way… We enjoyed meeting you in the boatyard, and are very happy to know you are back in the water! Perhaps we’ll cross paths again – until then, all the best – the Nyon Crew

  6. Chuck/Jacaranda says:

    Sure is nice to see the old beast floating and looking so good. Now the push should be to get outta dodge. Congratulations on completing all the projects

  7. Kay says:

    I loved your post. You and Lulu are such a special couple. By the way, I remembered the name of my favorite beach in Mexico that I couldn’t remember at dinner, Manzanillo. It’s just gorgeous there! Anywhoo-Be safe and smooth sailing.

Leave a Reply

