12/3/2012 – Life is still good

So, the last post was about 5 days ago and, at that time, I was going to take the engine’s injection pump in to be serviced and that would solve all our problems, right?  Well, as it turns out, not so much.

But before that, on Friday, neither Lulu or I felt particularly motivated to do much of anything.  Since we have been more or less working every day, we decided that a day off was not out of order, especially since there was really nothing I could do with the engine until I got the pump back on Saturday.  Friday was a beautiful day.  High predicted to be in the low 80s and a crystal clear blue sky.  We tuned in a music station on the Sirius radio, put the extension speakers out in the cockpit and cracked ourselves a couple of pre-noon beers, often the very best kind.

crackin' a cold one

Although the plan was to do pretty much of nothing, we still managed to work on a couple of projects.  I’v recently pulled my ukulele out of its case and have been playing it daily.  Well, the only way to continue doing that is to NOT stick it away in its case every day.  Too much of a hassle to pull it out (it’s bungeed to the overhead in the v-berth) so I don’t pick it up on a whim.  So, since I want to leave it out most of the time, I asked Lulu to crochet me a sheath to put it in when I’m done playing, just to protect it from scratches and such.  So, that was her project.

Lulu and the uke sheath

As for myself, I hadn’t really planned to do anything more strenuous than reading but, after awhile I decided that this would be a great time to work on making the lifting slings for the dinghy.  So, armed with some old line, some low-end carabiners, and the various goodies in my ditty bag, I proceeded to make three snap-on lifting lines for connecting to a halyard and launching/retrieving our new Walker Bay 8.

So, we managed to get a couple things done, listened to a lot of great music and, later on feasted on a roast chicken with baked spuds on the side.  Just the way to decompress from our normally hectic lifestyle. (I almost spewed beer out my nose when I read that last line).

I rode the bus in to Guaymas on Saturday morning to get the serviced injection pump.  I asked if it had been dirty or otherwise messed up but the guy who was working said he didn’t know as it was the other guy who had done the service on it.  But he assured me that everything was working right and charged me $500MX which is about $38US.  This is pretty good since a rebuild of the Bosch injection pump on our old Sabb engine on our first boat, a good 10 years ago, was something like $600US in Portland, OR.  Did I get a sweet deal or not?  Well, it’s hard to say since, once I installed the pump back in the engine, the engine still wouldn’t start.  Crank-crank-crank but no start.  Hmm…

So, I called Tom on s/v Ándale to see who he had used to fix his recent engine woes.  He told me that Omar was the man and gave me Omar’s phone number.  I promptly gave Omar a call but he was tied up the rest of Saturday and doesn’t work on Sunday so he said he’d be out about noon on Monday.  Good enough for me.  I just put my tools away and buttoned up the engine compartment.  It’s in Omar’s court now.

Sunday, having nothing better to do, we rode the bus in to Guaymas to see if our friends Zak, Suzi, and Ronan from s/v Wendy Ellen were still in the yard over there.  Turns out they weren’t but we were able to wander around and check out a bunch of cool boats.  This yard is way more our style and is probably where we’ll haul out next time we need to haul out.  Of course, if you remember, this is where we were headed but couldn’t quite get to, which is why we ended up in San Carlos in the first place.

Anyway, Monday finally rolled around and all we had to do was wait for Omar to show up and help us get this freakin’ Westerbeke started.  As I said, he was supposed to show up at noon.  At 1:00 PM I gave him a call to see where he was.  He assured me that he would be right out as soon as he finished what he was doing.  Fine.  It’s now almost 11 PM and we have neither seen nor heard from Omar.  Such is life in Mexico.  But, I’m not complaining.  It was about 80-82 degrees today with a crystal clear blue sky.  Tonight it’s a perfect sleeping temperature of about 60 degrees.  We had pizza for the 3rd night in a row (chicken/artichoke hearts/olives/mushrooms the first night, Italian salami/artichoke hearts/black olives the second night and tonight it was Spanish chorizo with black olives), I managed to get a few hunks of baggywrinkle hung up in the rigging today, Lulu worked on my uke sheath and did some cosmetic work to the bathroom walls where holes that had been previously drilled were no longer needed, and I put in a couple hours playing my little hawaiian axe.  So, screw Omar.  Maybe he’ll show up tomorrow.

Oh, just for the heck of it, here’s a picture of our Thanksgiving dinner, our first meal back on Siempre Sabado since July.

T-day meal

 

 

 

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12/3/2012 – Life is still good

  1. what do you like about guaymas that you don’t like about san carlos? just wondering? the way it’s going for you guys, maybe you’ll still be there when we get there–lol!! we are headed to penasco tomorrow for @10 days, if omar can’t fix the engine right away, and you feel like you want a bus ride-lol! we have used omar in the past, and he is very good, but his watch wa
    s definitely made south of the border, so just play some more uke and enjoy the great weather 🙂

    • sryoder says:

      Our impression of Gabriel’s yard in Guaymas was just that it was a lot more laid back Granted, the security isn’t as tight as in San Carlos but we haven’t heard of anyone being ripped of over there so it must be good enough. And, it’s SO much cheaper when you’re working on your boat than San Carlos is.

      Be good to see you guys but, if it means not getting our engine running, maybe not so much. Have fun in PP.

  2. Happy to see the galley Siempre Sabado is once again in full swing. I am dying to see a crocheted uke cover. Has Lulu figured out how to crochet sails yet? 😉

  3. And I thought that was a can off woopass! Have a cold one for us too.
    Ukulele? Cool, nice and small. After luging a bass around for 25 years, a harmonica or even a blade of grass will be my instrument of choice in my next life!

Leave a Reply

