12/13/12 Uke sock

I have a really cool tweed hard case for my ukulele as well as a really secure place to keep it when underway.  The trouble is that, when the uke is stashed away in its case, I just don’t play it.  It’s a hassle to pull it out so it just stays stowed.  The uke just needs to be out where I can grab it anytime if I’m going to actually play it.

I’d finally decided that I was going to leave it out, except maybe when we’re actually sailing somewhere.  It was likely to get scratched up some, which would hurt, but it’s better than not getting played.  I was resigned to it.  So, I pulled it out and have been playing it daily ever since.

Recently, Lulu was between craft projects and looking for something to do.  I thought, “Let’s see, she’s crocheted protective sleeves for both laptop computers, the netbook, both Kindles, a magnifying glass,  nine mini hard drives and the printer.  Why not one for my uke?”  I presented the idea and she decided that, although it might be kind of a challenge, she was willing to give it a go.

It took her about a week, but she managed to pull it off.  Check it out:

Uke sock

Pretty snazzy, huh?

The upper part is large enough that I can leave the electronic tuner attached to the uke’s head.  The bottom is open.  Now I can just slide the uke out when the spirit moves me and, afterwards, slide it back into its protective sock so it doesn’t get all scratched up.  The best of both worlds.  It’s good to have a talented wife who needs projects to do.

Now I’m ready to break into an impromptu performance of Mele Kalikimaka at the drop of a Santa hat.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 12/13/12 Uke sock

  1. F eye says:

    Hey Steve… You sure that is for the “uke”

  2. wow, lulu, you are my hero!! love the pattern and colors. hope to see you soon ❤

  3. Nancy J. Pura says:

    Congratulations for choosing a clever woman to be your wife. By the way I am getting many comments on the two bracelets that Lulu gave me. I wear them all the time. If I ever buy and uke I will contact Lulu. Take care and my love to both of you always – Nancy

  4. Shelly says:

    A ukulele sock, very clever and cool. So happy to hear you are strumming, will look forward to our next “jam session.”

  5. MWhite:LittleCunningPlan says:

    Man, that is amazing!

  6. Yup That’s the coolest sock, ever! Bravo to both of ya.
    Lulu’s top notch.
    Now, about my bass… I was wondering…………

  7. Sandy Holeman says:

    That Lulu!! What an amazing person she is!

Leave a Reply

