2/6/2013 – Isla San Marcos to Punta Chivato

Last night I was sending e-mail out via the SSB radio. Just when I hit send, there was some noise topsides. Not sure what it was and it wasn’t all that loud so I ignored it. But later, while I was taking a last look around before bed, some kind of large bird tried to land on the boat. It was dark but I could just make out his basic size and I could hear the swoosh of his wings as he back-flapped to slow down for a landing. I clapped my hands a few times and scared him off. I waited but he didn’t return. Now I have a new theory about the noise I heard when I was sending e-mail. When transmitting over the SSB radio, especially on HI power, a LOT of radio frequency energy travels through the antenna, which, in our case, is a heavy, insulated wire running from the stern pulpit to the top of the mast. It carries enough energy to fry an autopilot. Ask me how I know. Or just go back to sometime in May of last year (if I remember right) and read the blog that tells all about it. Anyway, I’m thinking that a bird was either roosted in the rigging or just about to land when I hit ‘transmit’. The energy was probably enough to hurt and sent it flying away from the rigging. If I’m right, the departure was probably less than graceful since the zap probably took it completely unawares. Anyway, that’s my theory. Lots of time to think down here.

We departed Bahia Puerto Viejo around 8:45 this morning. The seas were dead flat so we opted to get underway and have breakfast along the way. The trip was only around 12 miles so we could make it in 3 hours or less. It was totally uneventful. Saw no wildlife other than birds, had either no wind or “noserlies” and even those were mighty light. We arrived in Bahia Santa Ines and were anchored at 11:30. Lulu ran the watermaker the whole trip which provided us with 13 gallons of fresh water or slightly more than enough to offset our usage since we left Santa Rosalia.

This anchorage is always referred to as Punta Chivato or just Chivato. But, in reality, according to our cruising guide Punta Chivato is just one of the points on the peninsula. The northernmost is Punta Chivato, than, moving south, comes Punta Cerotito, then Punta Santa Ines, then Punta Mezguitito which is actually the point closest to where we’re anchored.

The bay is lined with a hotel and a lot of fancy houses. We didn’t go ashore today but tomorrow we’ll explore them a little. There is an airstrip behind the houses. To quote Shawn & Heather in the “Sea of Cortez Cruisers’ Guidebook”: “Punta Chivato has long been popular with tourists as both a sailing destination as well as a fly-in destination for private aviators.”

Since we stayed aboard today, it was a pretty kick-back day. You know, to give us a break from all the high stress days that preceded today. Lulu made spaghetti sauce and a loaf of French bread and worked on crocheting projects. I read and then worked on trying to make our onboard shower a reality. Still have a few bugs to work out but I think I’m on the right track. Onboard inside showers. Get this figured out and we’ll have pretty much crossed our last hurdle to reasonable comfort onboard. And speaking of comfort aboard, dinner tonight was fresh French bread with spaghetti sauce ladled over the top of it. So good!

That’s about it for today. We’ll stay here through tomorrow and then, weather cooperating, we’ll shove off for Bahia Concepcion on Friday morning.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2/6/2013 – Isla San Marcos to Punta Chivato

  1. Nancy J. Pura says:

    I can almost smell that bread!!!!!! Take care and my love to both of you always – Nancy

  2. Sandy Holeman says:

    Cool. Do you think the bird may have been an albatross? Was it that big?

Leave a Reply

