5/6/2013 – R.I.P Kindle

The other day, I switched my Kindle from standby to ON and this is what I got:

kindle rip

Part of the screen saver stayed, a big chunk of screen went white and I got all these horizontal and vertical lines.  My first thought was, “oh, it’ll go away after I cycle the switch a few times”.  Well, that didn’t happen.  So, I followed the instructions for resetting the Kindle: charge it all the way up, then hold the switch in the ON position for 15 seconds and then release.  I’ve done this before when the screen froze but this was beyond a simple freeze-up.  And, of course, it didn’t work.  My next thought was that, if I removed the battery and then replaced it, it would be like rebooting the system.  Since the Kindle is long past its warranty date, I popped the back off and removed the battery.  But the screen image did not change.  Wha??? So, figuring that maybe there was an eprom battery inside somewhere I just left it a few days with the main battery out figuring the eprom would run down and then the screen would clear.  After a week, the screen was still the same.  That’s either a heck of an eprom battery or there’s something about this e-ink technology that I am completely unaware of.  So, I went online to check the collective brain trust that is the internet.  Seems this is not a completely unusual problem and is not fixable save by replacing the screen.  Supposedly you can buy a used screen for $50.  Or you can have Amazon fix it for around $89.  However, I just ordered a brand new unit for $69.  Granted, it’s their cheapest model but so was this one when I bought it.  Can’t really see buying a fancier one.  Other than features, they’re all the same mechanism basically.  Much rather have to throw away a cheap one than a more expensive one.  However, I won’t get my new one until we’re back in Oregon in July.  Until then, I have to read books.  But, guess what?  Other than technical manuals, cookbooks, etc, there are only 2 books onboard.  Yikes!  That means we have to go back to Puerto Escondido to raid the book exchange at the Hidden Port Yacht Club.  I don’t want to go back to PE and I have no books to exchange.  Fortunately, we hooked up with our friends Doug and Linda on the sailing vessel ¡Que Linda! who gave me half a dozen books they were through with.  That should be enough to get us back to La Paz.  I guess since I used my Kindle about 16 hours a day, every day, I got my money’s worth.  And, no, my books are not lost.  Besides the fact that every book I’ve bought from Amazon is available to me from the Amazon website any time I want it, I also have every book that was on my Kindle plus a whole bunch of others backed up on the computer, a DVD, and a thumb drive or two.

We left Ensenada Blanca last Wednesday as there was a good north blow predicted and EB is not protected from the north.  We spent a couple of virtually windless days at Agua Verde and then headed back to Ensenada Blanca (aka Candeleros) as we were hoping to see s/v Bumfuzzle.  Alas, Bumfuzzle had already left when we got there.  The first night we had hellacious winds out of the west come up around sunset.  Blew hard all night long with frequent gusts in the 30s.  However, there were no seas associated with the winds and, once we were sure we were staying put, we slept like babies.  Apparently not everyone in the anchorage had the same experience although, to my knowledge, no one dragged anchor.  Last night was perfectly calm.

We’re getting into that really sweet time of the summer.  Hot and clear all day but cool enough to sleep at night.  No longer looking for weather windows in which to move but rather just watching for the occasional day or two when we don’t want to move.  Tomorrow we’re heading back down to Agua Verde again and then we’ll push on to points south, eventually arriving in La Paz where we’ll park the boat before going to Oregon for a couple months to visit our families and be on hand for the birth of our first grandchild (a boy) in early August.

Sorry about not many photos but I’ve just been falling down on the taking pictures job lately.  But cut me some slack.  I’m still in mourning.  So long little Kindle.  We hardly knew ye.

 

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5/6/2013 – R.I.P Kindle

  1. Elli and Bill Bogden s/v Cada Dia Mas says:

    oh i am SOOOO excited to hear about the baby!!! i know you will love being grandparents, just like we do!!

Leave a Reply

