6/1/2013 – Photo Post: San Marte

Our next stop after Agua Verde was right around the corner at Bahia San Marte.  This was the place that we had so much fun tidepooling.

Just can't seem to take enough photos of the old girl at anchor.

Just can’t seem to take enough photos of the old girl at anchor.

Although we spent most of our time tidepooling, we also took a little hike.  Would have been much more enjoyable with long pants and boots or at least actual shoes.  Lulu has shoes that she wears when we hike but I’m down to sandals only as my tennies that I brought down here back in 2010 have a hole in the sole.  Guess it’s time for a new pair.

hiking the scrub

Later, back at the tidepools:

Sun star

Sun star

We saw a whole bunch of these sun stars.  They were generally about 5-7 inches across.  They blend in so well that we had to be very careful where we stepped.  Would have hated to step on one.  These are the speed demons of the sea star world.  If you pay attention you can watch them crawl along.  We also saw a ton of little hermit crabs but it’s hard to get a photo of one that looks like anything other than a couple of red legs sticking out of a shell, which is exactly what they look like in real life.

Sally lightfoot crab

Sally lightfoot crab

The photo above is of a Sally Lightfoot crab.  Tough to get a decent photo as they are all kinds of shy.  They can see you coming from a long ways away and scurry from rock to rock to hide from you.  They deserve their name as they are amazingly light on their feet and FAST!  I got this photo by approaching from one side while Lulu approached from the other to keep him off-guard.  When I got as close as I thought he’d let me get, I resorted to the zoom lens.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 6/1/2013 – Photo Post: San Marte

  1. Eric says:

    I was thinking that some more pics of your boat at anchor would be just fine with me. Maybe a little closer since I have such bad eyes? Loved all the pics. Keep up the good work, y’all.
    Eric
    Westsail 28 “Clementine”

    • sryoder says:

      Hey, Eric. As a fellow W28er, if there’s anything specific on Siempre Sabado that you’d like photos of, just let me know and I’ll e-mail some shots whenever we have internet access. The reason most of my at anchor shots have the boat so far away is because I’m trying to give a feel for what the anchorage looks like. If I took the photos very close they would all look about the same. But, that said, I’ll still send photos of whatever you want to see. Just may not muck up the blog with them.

      -Steve

  2. vickiel@q.com says:

    What great photos love the crab total national geographic material. Todd Snider’s Traveling Folk Show troupe including Hayes Carll, Shawn Mullins, and Sarah Jarosz will be at the Zoo performing August 10. Hector getting me tickets for my birthday! all flingsters might like the show. Vickie

  3. Tate says:

    Really enjoying these photo posts Steve.

  4. Hi Steve,
    If you think it’s been hard to find WiFi in the Sea, you ought to try the South Pacific. But who am I to complain about being in the South Pacific. What a treat! We’re landlubbers for the time being since getting put off the boat we crewed on from Puerto Vallarta (we left on April 1st). Right now, we’re in Papeete, Tahiti and staying in a rental apartment with awesome WiFi. I’m finally caught up on my favorite blog. I’m afraid we’re going to miss being able to finally hook up with you guys, since we will probably not make it back to La Paz until late July. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get the boat put back together (I stripped everything before we left not knowing when we would return) by the time you are back to start your fall cruising.

  5. cody says:

    That sun star looks like an awesome sweater and I love the vibrant Colors on the crab!

Leave a Reply

