9/19/2013 – Cruisin’ south on 101

Naturally, yesterday’s weather didn’t hold. In the wee hours of the morning, Lulu woke up to use the facilities and was getting sprinkled on a little through the overhead vent. She closed the vents and told me that it was raining. When I listened, sure enough, there it was. The rest of the night it would rain a little and then it would just pour down for a few minutes, then maybe quit for a couple minutes, then repeat the whole process. Naturally, this kept me more or less awake from then on as I pondered how this would affect our next day’s travel plans. We have sailed a tiny boat on the big ol’ Pacific Ocean for hundreds and hundreds of miles through sometimes crappy weather and here I am being kept awake by a little bit of Northern California rain. Sheesh!

The plan for Tuesday was to drive as far as Leggett on 101 and then jump off to Highway 1, one of the twistiest, hilliest, slowest, prettiest drives we’ve ever done. We’ve driven Hwy 1 more times than I can remember and I still love it. Well, I love/hate it. Usually, about the time we reach Jenner I’m so sick of how slow the road is (I’m usually stuck behind someone even slower then me) that I’m ready to jump back over to 101. I usually don’t jump though as I’m loathe to add any extra miles to our trip. Anyway, the point is that we almost always drive Hwy 1 and I had every intention of doing so again on this trip. That is until it started raining.

The beauty of Hwy 1 is the gorgeous scenery. The road hugs the coast all the way to the Golden Gate Bridge, or at least it gets as close as it possibly can. You crawl through quaint little towns and can get some idea of what driving for pleasure in California was like back in the day. If there were just a few of those cool old gas station/diner combos like in “The Postman Always Rings Twice”, it would be perfect. Plenty of abandoned ones but they’re not quite the same although they still tend to make me nostalgic.

But, if it was going to be raining, I’d have to keep my eyes on the road too much to be able to really appreciate the scenery. Then it just becomes a slow, windy (that’s wine-dee, not win-dee) slog. And really, 101 is no slouch when it comes to scenery. Besides the rain, the other reason we balked at taking Hwy 1 was the availability, or lack thereof, of RV spots to spend the night. I used our excellent wifi at “Sounds Of The Sea” to look for such places and came up pretty empty. There are a few but not where I wanted them and they seem to realize they have a seller’s market when they decide how much to charge. Hwy 101, on the other hand, is lousy with RV campgrounds as well as regular State Park type campgrounds. Fair enough, 101 it would be.

The trip was, once again, thankfully uneventful. Stopped in Eureka to try to find a copy of Woodall’s Campground Guide. Unfortunately, Eureka only has 2 bookstores (not counting the Historical Society) and both are a little too hip to have a book written for (cough, cough) RVers. No problem, though, we’ll find one once we get back to the land of the big box stores. I’d much prefer to shop with the little guys but they just don’t carry what I want to buy. Oh, they can always order it for me but hell, I can order it myself, and probably get it faster.

We crossed over lots of passes resulting in LOTS of downshifting but Flipper just plugged away mile after mile. The highlight of the trip was passing through the awesomely huge redwoods at Richardson Cove. The only reason I can think of that I didn’t pull over and snap a photo for you was that we’d driven through there so many times before that it just didn’t occur to me that there might be some people in the world who had never seen these huge, HUGE trees. Sorry, my bad.

We stopped for the day about 2:30 in Ukiah. We’re staying at the Redwood Empire Fairgrounds RV Park. I saw several RV parks listed that are set up at county fairgrounds. Smart way to keep some shekels rolling in all year long. This fairground also happens to house 3 charter schools on-site so they really keep the place in use. We were supposed to have wifi but “it went out about a week ago” and hasn’t been restored yet. Fortunately there’s a McDonalds an easy walk away. That’s actually how you’re going to get this blog. I’m writing it on Open Office and I’ll cut and paste it to WordPress and post it tomorrow when we stop at Mickey D’s on the way out of town.

Tomorrow’s destination is our sister-in-law, Carol’s house in San Geronimo, Marin County. I guess Carol is technically our ex-sister-in-law but since it wasn’t us that divorced her, we’re dropping the “ex”. We’ll be there until Friday when we’ll wend our way down to Santa Cruz.

 

 

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 9/19/2013 – Cruisin’ south on 101

  1. Sheila and Gary in Port Angeles says:

    We are enjoying the blog!

  2. Jim Cowherd says:

    Hello Steve,

    Send me an email off line and maybe we could meet and go for a quick sail. I am in King Harbor in Redondo Beach..Enjoy your trip .

    Jim

  3. Joan/Raymond Yoder says:

    Wise Idea to not take highway 1. Especially with rainy weather plus in a motorhome it is not too good. Been over it several times and probably will never do again. Love, Mom

  4. Jim Cowherd says:

    Corrected email address.

    While in Pismo Beach try the Clam Chowder .at Splash They are located near the pierr Enjoy

    Jim

    • sryoder says:

      Thanks, Jim. We’ll try to make our schedule work out so we’re near there at lunchtime. Don’t know if you read it or not, but I did a blog a couple years ago lamenting the difficulty in finding a really good bowl of clam chowder on the Oregon coast.

  5. Duke Mac Gill says:

    If you can arrange your schedule, stop by San Leandro on the 5 and 6 of October for the Northern California Westsail rendezvous. If you can Denise and I will buy Saturday night dinner for you two. I would like to talk to you more about making rope finders and rat lines. Drop me a line at dukemacgill@gmail.com . hope to see you there Duke Westsail Amable’

Leave a Reply

