2/7/2014 – A side trip to Walnut Creek

Yesterday we left the Sandy Shores county park in Rio Vista about 9:45 or so and headed to McDonald’s to use their wifi and scarf down a couple of Sausage McMuffins.  I had a list of things to take care of while connected so I’d use my time efficiently (also so I’d have a list to check-off things as completed to make myself feel good).  Got everything done including bringing Dora back from the other side.

Our first planned stop of the day was to be in Walnut Creek to visit with Lulu’s cousin Nancy, who she hadn’t seen in a very long time and I’d never met.  We drove the levee road again but it was a whole bunch windier than it had been the day before.  Going up over the Senator John A. Nejedly Bridge (Antioch Bridge) over the San Joaquin River was a white knuckle affair since the wind was really blowing hard at the top and Flipper was feeling every gust.  Ever try walking in a breeze carrying a sheet of plywood?  Similar feeling.  Once we got behind the hills on the south side of the bridge, the wind was pretty well blocked and I mellowed out.

We continued on into Walnut Creek on the San Ygnacio Valley Road.  I had to fight with Dora to take this route and actually had to resort to trickery to get her to comply. But eventually I figured out how to get her to agree with me and we pressed on.

We arrived at Nancy and Joe’s about 12:30, right on schedule.  After shooting the breeze at their house awhile we went out to lunch at a Thai place.  Excellent food and a lot of food for lunch.  A big lunch just means we get to snack for dinner.  Back at their place we visited a little more and then hit the road.

Lulu's cousin Nancy and her husband Joe.  Got married the same year we did (1977). Had a very enjoyable visit.

Lulu’s cousin Nancy and her husband Joe. Got married the same year we did (1977). Had a very enjoyable visit with them.

As it was getting late-ish, we decided to only go as far as Stockton.  Funny, I went for 62 years without ever going to Stockton (even though I spent all of my junior high and high school years living in San Jose) and now we’ll have been there 3 times in less than a year.  Anyway, we knew we wouldn’t make it before 5:00 when the RV park closes its gate, so we called ahead and got a reservation, gate code, wifi code, etc.  Riverpoint RV Park & Marina has treated us well on all three of our visits.

We might have been able to get to Stockton before 5:00 except that I chose to take a 2-lane road through the hills instead of the freeway.

Windy road and fairly uneven surface.  Just the way I like it.

Windy road and fairly uneven surface. Just the way I like it.

The road passed through horse country.  There weren’t many places to pull over and let traffic pass so I usually had a line of Mercedes, Lexuses, Range Rovers, etc. behind me.  Not because I couldn’t or wouldn’t drive the speed limit, mind you, they just wanted to go faster.

Here’s a Google map showing our route:

Today, we were planning on heading south and stopping a little shy of Bakersfield.  That was before I remembered that the park we stayed in when we were on our way north gave us a 10% off coupon for our next visit.  They’ll let us combine that with the senior discount for a whopping 20% off.  So, Bakersfield it is.  Hey, RV Park owners: you see what happened there?

Right now, it’s 7:30 (I’ve been up since 5:30).  Lulu’s still sleeping.  Once she’s up we’ll take care of our morning stuff.  One of my morning things is, of course, breakfast.  I’ve been enjoying my ham and cheese scramble burritos lately.  I toss some Tabasco sauce in with the eggs when I whip them up. But today, I’m going to use some Piri Piri Portuguese hot sauce that Joe gave me.  Olive oil based instead of vinegar.  Looking forward to it.  Thanks again, Joe.

41gKKmFqmML

Should be on the road by about 10:30 or so.  Oh, this hectic life!

PS: Brown Dog, if you’re reading this (what are the odds?), I tried to call you and let you know we’d be in WC.  Left a message on your cell (number we have for the house no longer works).  Never heard back.

 

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2/7/2014 – A side trip to Walnut Creek

  1. joan yoder says:

    What is the name of the RV park near Bakersfield that you are talking about. We stayed in a small park in Pixley whichis north of Bakersfield several times. Can’t remember how much we paid.

    Good traveling. Be seeing you the first of the week? Love, Mom

    by the way if you get to Needles and time to stay over, the KOA is only $25.00 plus taxes. Nice park

    • sryoder says:

      It’s called Bakersfield Palms RV Park and it’s a couple miles east of the freeway. Looks like we might be there as early as Sunday evening but don’t count on it. They have any overnighter spots available where you are?

  2. Sandy Holeman says:

    I’m so glad you mentioned the list and ticking things off making you feel good. Glad I’m not the only one. Sometimes when I start a new list, I even go back and put stuff on it that I already did, just so I can check it off. Is that weird?

  3. Duke Mac Gill says:

    Hey Steve and Lulu. Welcome back to Stockton. I will not be able to take you out to the Mexican restaurant that we discussed last time you were in Stockton, because I am here in Reno with a shoulder injury. Jim and Julie Foche are in Ensenada with a motor issue. If you would like I will forward you their last email describing the motor cooling issue and their decision to stay in Ensenada for the winter. Good luck on your trip south.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • sryoder says:

      Thanks, Duke. We’d love to hear what the Fochas are up to. Reno with a shoulder injury? Too much time at the slots? Hope you get better soon.

      yodersaflo

Leave a Reply

