2/25/2014 – San Carlos

Well, we’ve been here for almost a week.  Must be time to write a blog.

IMG 2388

This next photo is of the homes on the hillside in Bahía San Carlos.  Always looks very Mediterranean to me:

IMG 2392

We moved from the bay into a slip in the marina on Monday.  It came off without mishap in spite of the fact that I overshot the entry to C dock and had to back up.  Amazingly, the boat behaved and backed up just like it was supposed to.  That doesn’t happen often but it sure is nice when it does.

On Wednesday we walked out to Totonaka RV park (2.25 miles one way) to get the serial numbers off our other three faulty Caframo fans so we could file a warranty claim.  Happy to say that Flipper seems to have fared just fine during our absence.  Just being inside her started my road trip juices flowing.  On the walk back, we stopped at JJ’s for some lunch.  We each had a fish taco and a chile relleno that was split open and then topped off with shrimp.  Tough duty.  Before we left a guy came around selling shrimp.  After one look at the size of them we decided to get a kilo for dinner.

Who you callin'

Lulu cooked these babies up with garlic, butter, and a few spices.  Each one was at least 4 bites.

Lulu’s been busy this week washing the salt and dirt off the boat as well as cleaning and waxing all the stainless steel.  It’s looking really good.  I just hope the long storage the boat’s facing won’t make a mess of all her hard work.  But she’s looking at it philosophically figuring that at least she’s giving the steel a fighting chance against the elements.  I, on the other hand, haven’t done any of my big jobs although I did get the stuff to do at least one of them.  And I got the watermaker pickled for long-term storage.  

Today I had to go into Guaymas for a dental appointment.  Our neighbor Mike (s/v Se Langt) recommended a dentist that he’d gone to.  Said she did really good work and her prices were great.  I had to go to Guaymas on Wednesday to get some electrical wire and stopped by her office to make an appointment while I was at it.   For a month or so, I’ve had a little pain on one of my top molars.  It only hurts when I’m eating something on that side and exerting pressure straight up against the chewing surface.  Also when I floss between that tooth and the one behind it, I can feel a tiny twinge of pain.  I assumed I had a cavity and figured I’d get it fixed when we got here.  In the meantime I made sure to let a couple mouthfuls of rum (or tequila) soak the tooth area for at least 30 seconds every night, just to make sure that no nasty little germs get started chewing on things in there before I could get to the dentist.  Seems to have worked as a lot of the time the pain is non-existent.  Well, turns out it wasn’t a cavity.  At least, not a new cavity.  Seems the filling that had been put there I don’t know how many years ago was finally failing and needed to be replaced.  She asked if I wanted to do it now and I said sure, why not?  She gave me a shot of Novocaine (or whatever they use now), drilled the remains of the old filling out and put a new one in.  The filling she made was the same polymer stuff we were getting in the States.  An hour after I entered the office I left, all fixed up and with the Novocaine wearing off nicely.  The whole procedure set me back $350 pesos.  That’s just under $27.00 (US).  Dr. Veronica has a very low overhead office: no staff – she’s a one-woman show, no waiting room to speak of,  just a few chairs outside the “work room”, no receptionist – if she doesn’t answer the phone herself, whoever might be working in the dress shop next door, which is also Dr. Veronica’s, will answer it as well as take appointments from the occasional walk-in like myself, and, no paperwork.  I’m sure this wouldn’t work everywhere but it sure worked well for me for what I needed done today.

Speaking of bargains, yesterday I stopped off at the Santa Fe market to get some dinner stuff.  I wanted to cook some chicken and chiles rellenos to go along with the remains of the rice pilaf Lulu made to go with the shrimp.  At the meat counter, which is pretty small, I’m checking out the chicken hindquarters.  They had the standard Bochoco brand for around $50 pesos per kilo.  But they had these others that were obviously store-wrapped on sale for $18.90/kilo!  Can that be right?  That’s like $0.66(US)/pound.  The package smelled okay so I grabbed it.  What a deal!

The chiles rellenos I cooked were a little different than what we usually get.  Usually it’s either an anaheim or poblano pepper, filled with cheese and then coated in an egg batter and fried.  I didn’t really feel like messing with batter so I just cut a tiny slit in the top of the anaheim’s that I had fire-roasted and peeled.  I carefully pulled the majority of the seeds out this slit.  Carefully because a skinned, roasted pepper is a pretty fragile customer.  Then I cut some pieces of Queso Menonita Tipo Chester and inserted the cheese into the pepper via the slit.  The I just fried the naked peppers in a tiny bit of oil until they were a wee bit brown on each side.  We decided we liked these even better the the coated rellenos.  The coated ones always seem to be extra greasy due to the coating sucking up and holding the grease.  These just tasted like chiles and cheese which is a hard taste combination to beat.

Well that’s about it from San Carlos for now.  Amazing how little has changed since we left back in December 2012.  It’s almost like we never left.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

