5/4/2014 – Back Mexico otra vez

After I dropped Lulu off at the airport in Tucson yesterday, I stopped at a couple stores to get a few things and then pressed on to Organ Pipe National Monument.  It was really nice to get out of town and back on to a 2-lane road.  With the exception of Border Patrol vehicles, there was almost no traffic to speak of.  There were a lot of BP vehicles running around, though.

About 2/3 of the way, I stopped for gas at a wide spot in the road.  After filling Flipper’s main tank, I went inside to get something to munch on.  Picked up a bottle of water and a Tabasco-flavored Slim Jim (now, even slimmer!).  I was just about to go to the check-out counter when I spied this:

Hot Pickles

Yeah, baby!  There were three 1-gallon jars: Hot, Medium, and something else (I wasn’t paying any attention after I saw the Hot ones), a pair of tongs sitting on top of the jars and an open box of zip-lock sandwich bags alongside.  Now that’s what I call a road snack!  And, it actually was hot.

Pulled in to Organ Pipe around 3:30 PM and got the benefit of my Senior card: no entry fee (saved $8.00) and 1/2 price campsite (saved $6.00).  Nice.  Who should I see right in front of me but one of the PanAmerican Euro-trekkers we saw on the road and camped with in Magdalena Kino a few days ago.  This was the guy from Switzerland.  The park was practically empty.  Half the sites were closed off to keep costs down but, even with only the ones that were left, no one had to camp within sight of anyone else unless they wanted to.  I parked right next to what became my own private bathroom and shower.

Got up early today, around 5:15.  No particular reason, I was just awake.  After some coffee and pineapple, I really didn’t feel like making breakfast so I just cleaned up and hit the road.  I think I crossed the US-Mexico border around 7:00.  Wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do.  I needed to stop at Desemboque to pick up one of the leveling blocks we inadvertently left behind at Kevin’s in February.  But I hadn’t gotten hold of him yet as I forgot to do it when we were at the KOA in Tucson and I didn’t have internet accessibility at Organ Pipe.  So, I decided that my best bet was just to drive to Puerto Peñasco and stay overnight.  From there I could contact Kevin.  As I drove through the border town of Sonoyta, I noticed a Telcel office.  This reminded me that I could use my banda ancha again so, a few miles south of Sonoyta, I pulled over at an Area de Descanso (Rest Area), plugged the banda ancha into my computer and sent Kevin a message.  Once I got to PP and could download e-mail, I found that he’d answered and, as it happens, plans to be in PP this evening and will bring the block with him.  Nice.  Saves me a few kilometers tomorrow.

I chose The Reef RV park in Puerto Peñasco for no particular reason, but I’m glad that I did.  The price of the beachside sites was a hefty $35(US)/night.  But the rest of the sites were only $20 and allhad full hook-ups, wifi, etc.  I opted for the cheaper route.  You tell me whether I made the right decision.

IMG 2400

 

The view that I see as I sit at the table writing this blog:

IMG 2401

It’s really nice here.  There’s a cool breeze coming in off the water and there are few enough rigs here so that a certain level of privacy can be expected.  I was all checked in, hooked up and downloading e-mail by 9:45.  Ah, the joys of early rising.  After that, I made and ate a leisurely breakfast.  Not sure what I’ll do with the rest of the day.  It’s a very, very long walk into town and I don’t really have any reason to go there.  Guess I’ll just hang around, read, do crosswords, eat, etc.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll drive as far as Santa Ana and stay at an RV Park recommended by a guy here in Puerto Peñasco on the RockyPointTalk.com website.  Then, back to the boat on Tuesday.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5/4/2014 – Back Mexico otra vez

  1. Joe Houchin says:

    Hey Steve, welcome back to Rocky Point! If you’d like to make a run down town or to the Malecon (maybe for some tacos at Viva Mexico), I’ll be happy to come get you at the Reef. You probably won’t recognize the Malecon now. You can email me at jbhouchin@cox.net.

    It would be great to see you again. I’m hooked on your blog!

    Joe

  2. MarjFries says:

    As usual, a good story! We’re in Stockton & following your moves

Leave a Reply

