5/15/2014 – Hauled

I was scheduled to haul out at 11:00 this morning.  I was ready before that and was just waiting to see when the 10:00 haulout cleared the dock so I could head over.  Well, he never showed.  So I called the marina office and suggested that maybe I should take his place.  They agreed so I got hauled at around 10:30 instead of 11:00.  In spite of some wind, I got underway without mishap thanks to some of my fellow sailors.  Tony from s/v Seaclusion was my deckhand and Pitt (at least I think it was Pitt) from s/v Calmer Seas (might be Karma Seas, I’ve never seen his boat and I can never quite make out the name on the radio) held a line to ensure that I turned the correct way when backing out of my slip.  Siempre Sabado’s prop walk generally makes her back to port (unless I want her to back to port), but today I needed to back to starboard.  All the linehandlers did a great job in helping me get out of my slip without embarrassing myself.  Thanks, all.

Don’t know if you remember but the first time we hauled here, seemed to me like the boat was awfully far back on the trailer.

Haulout 2012

Haulout 2012

Well, that’s pretty much what it looked like again today.  Except this time they decided they didn’t like that (which was FINE with me), so they refloated her and repositioned her a bit further forward.  Not sure why I didn’t take a picture.

And now I’m all braced up in the yard at Marina Seca.  I put together a pretty comprehensive to-do list and then checked off my first two items:  remove the ratlines and remove the pinrails.  I wept a bit as I cut through my pretty lashings.  I had just put these back on 2 months ago.  But, Lulu had also just finished refinishing them 2 months ago.  If I didn’t remove them now, I’d be removing them when we refloat her since the sun will have had its way with the finish well before we get back.  So, it’s the same amount of work for me but this way, at least Lulu doesn’t need to refinish them again.  If I’d been smart (I said if…) I wouldn’t have put them back on in La Paz. I would have put the pinrails on since I don’t know how anyone lives without them, but the ratlines could have waited.  Oh well.

Hauled out.  Ratlines and pinrails removed.  Along with solar panels and dodger.

Hauled out. Ratlines and pinrails removed. Along with solar panels and dodger.

The greenish-grey bottom is a layer of dried sea slime (algae) and not a new bottom paint color.  Don’t know about other Mexican boatyards but I miss the practice of the yard crews in the States of automatically pressure-washing your bottom as soon as you’re hauled.  But that’s OK.  There’ll no doubt be many offers to scrub the bottom by entrepreneurial Mexicans looking to make a few pesos, which I’ll gladly pay.

My first job tomorrow is to remove at least one of the three sails.  To remove the headsails you first have to unfurl them.  And that’s not something you want to do if it’s windy.  And it’s been getting windy here everyday.  Been starting around 11:00 so I need to get on it before that.

Dinner tonight is going to be chips and salsa because it’s just too hot to cook or eat anything.  At 6:15 PM, it’s still 93 degrees in the camper.  But, today I made a most pleasant discovery.  The office here at the RV park sells bagged ice.  ICE!  How did I not notice the big ice cooler before?  They certainly aren’t giving the stuff away (like at the Tucson KOA),  but it’s ICE and it’s HERE.  Do you know what this means?  Iced drinks!  Sweet, sweet, lovely, cold iced drinks!  I finished off a liter of limonada over ice when I got home today.  Then I had Clamato juice with worcestershire, soy sauce, granulated garlic, black pepper, and Tabasco and lots of ICE.  BTW, in case you didn’t know, although I’m sure you did, if you take the aforementioned mixture, add a healthy dose of lime juice, pour it in a large glass filled with ice (fill it only about 2/3 of the way with the mix) and then top it off with beer, you have yourself a michelada, or, depending on where you happen to be, a chelada.   Just keep topping it up with the remaining beer as you gain room in the glass.  Think I might mix myself one up right now.

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5/15/2014 – Hauled

  1. Hey, drink one of those bad boys for me too!
    Lookin’ good high and dry. Don’t worry about the slim… it’ll bake off…. but then again.
    I can sooo relate with the “port backing” part of this story (lol)
    Happy landlubber-ing

  2. Jay says:

    I noticed that you only have five jack stands under your boat, and there don’t seem to be any chains running under the boat to insure they don’t separate. I know my boat is larger, but at Marina Guaymas they put eleven jack stands with chains under it to insure stability and distribute the weight evenly. Are five enough under your boat, since you are leaving it through hurricane season?

    • sryoder says:

      It’ll only be on those stands sans chains for about a week, then she gets moved to the storage yard which is where she’ll be during hurricane season. Looking back at photos when we were in the yard last time as well as in Newport, looks like 5 is pretty standard for our boat. The lack of chains is more of a worry now that you mention it. I’m going to look around today and see if that’s their normal procedure. Hope not although they store hundreds and hundreds of boats so one would hope they know what they’re doing.

    • sryoder says:

      Jay, I checked when I got to the yard today and all the stands are chained together. Just can’t see the chains in the photo. Also, as far as the number of stands used, you have to remember that the Westsail is a full keeled boat. The hull is supported by the keel over almost its entire length. Really doesn’t need the support that a fin-keeld hull would. The stands are there mainly just to keep it from falling over, not to support the hull.

Leave a Reply

