5/28/2014 – Quite a change in climate, too.

Lake Almanor to Tionesta, CA: 167 miles (about 3 hrs 15 min)

Total since leaving San Carlos: 1,487 miles

Yesterday evening was cool-ish but not particularly uncomfortable.  But, it certainly got cold during the night.  I’ve been sleeping more or less covered by a sheet, usually with a fan blowing on me all night long.  Night before last I was able to skip the fan.  Last night, not only did I not need a fan, I could have used a light blanket, too.  Too lazy to get up and get one so I just curled up into a little ball, or as little a ball as my stiff old joints allow, pulled the sheet up to my chin and toughed it out.  It actually wasn’t all that bad but a blanket really would have felt good.  When I got up at 5:30, it was 51 degrees inside and the neighbor told me it was 39 outside.  I put on long pants, socks and a flannel shirt for the first time since February, except for nighttime watches during a couple of overnight passages.  Weather Underground says I can look forward to another night of it before it starts to warm up again.  I’ve already broken out the blanket for tonight.

Maybe it’s because I’m coming from a warm climate to a cooler one but it was really hard to convince myself today that it’s late spring and not fall.  After going from shorts, t-shirts and flip-flops to long pants, flannel shirts and socks, it’s just hard to believe that summer is coming.

Had a pretty slow morning.  I was going to cook myself some sausage and eggs but, when I pulled the package of Jimmy Dean out of the fridge, the package was blown up like a balloon.  This use to happen to us when we’d buy potato chips in town (700′) and then take them home (2000′).  The bags would be blown up like roadkill as the air inside expanded against the lighter air pressure.  But I don’t remember it ever happening to Jimmy Dean sausage.  And, I’m pretty sure I bought the sausage in Bishop which is only maybe 400′ lower than Lake Almanor, which hardly counts.  The fridge doesn’t work very well when driving.  Usually the flame blows out and that’s that.  And, I parked on kind of a non-level surface when I was parked in front of my niece’s house the other day so it wasn’t working very well there either.  I did open the package and, even the air that was expelled seemed to smell OK.  I smelled the sausage and it smelled fine.  I went ahead and cooked it up and it smelled great.  But, in the end, I just couldn’t bring myself to take the chance.  Food poisoning is bad enough. Food poisoning on the road would be nearly unbearable.  So I tossed the sausage and cooked bacon instead.  And shed a little tear.

The sausage led me to toss everything in the fridge that might have suffered or has been in there too long and, of course, that led to more dishes to be done.  Anyway, I didn’t get on the road until a little after 10:00.

Speaking of things spoiling, I realized today that I need to run my hot water heater more often.  I haven’t lit it in months.  But, since it was cold this morning and I had a bunch of greasy dishes to wash, I decided hot water would be the way to go.  Wow!  Talk about STINK!  Geez, that water was just plain nasty smelling.  Think maybe I need to cycle through it a little more often.  Once I get to Cody’s I’ll drain all the water tanks and flush them out thoroughly.

My goal for today was either Eagle’s Nest RV Park or Hawk’s nest RV Park, both within about a mile of each other on the same road outside Tionesta, just south of Tulelake, California.  The drive was pretty and there was almost no other traffic.  All of my photos were taken from the cab because I never got out of the rig until I stopped at the RV park.  Didn’t even get out to gas up.  The only places to gas up were Chester (way too expensive) or Susanville.  The only thing that stopped me in Susanville was that both the stations I passed were on the wrong side of the street.  Might have been a Chevron station on my side but Chevron’s prices are always way higher than anyone else’s.  Don’t you just love how independent that auxiliary gas tank allows me to be?  I do.

Here are a few shots of the drive:

I love the split-rail snake fence.  It went on a long ways.  I should have gotten out and taken a better picture.

I love the split-rail snake fence. It went on a long ways. I should have gotten out and taken a better picture.

Saw lots of old wooden buildings.  This is unheard of on the other side of the Cascades where wood just rots away if not tended to.

Saw lots of old wooden buildings. This is unheard of on the other side of the Cascades where wood just rots away if not tended to.

IMG_2587

After I got settled today I started looking at the atlas to figure out tomorrow’s trip.  Once I realized that Cody’s house, and Lulu were only 268 miles away, I decided that I was tired of talking to myself.  So tomorrow I’m going to hit the road early, stop for a real (as opposed to a McD’s) breakfast along the way and then just push on through to the Silverton Hills.  I can smell the barn.  Then I’ll get to get started on a long list of maintenance items I’ve been developing to get Flipper ready for the Epic Road Trip this fall.

 

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5/28/2014 – Quite a change in climate, too.

  1. Elli and Bill S/V Cada Dia Mas says:

    hope your last day on the road is uneventful, and that you are safe and sound with the family by tonite. we both agree with you about the temps., tho–glad we had the opportunity to arrive here “early” this year, and put in a garden, but also very much missing our more carefree mexican life, with minimal clothes and footwear–brrrr!

  2. Jay says:

    Speaking of packages expanding, my Mom bought some biscuits that come in a rolled cardboard tube in Bishop, at 4000 ft. That long straight uphill grade (Sherwin Grade) climbs 3000 ft in eight miles, and the biscuit container exploded coming up Sherwin Grade and she almost ran off the road while dodging huge puffed up biscuit missiles. Potato chips are also known to explode between Bishop and Mammoth Lakes.
    Just FYI, when I lived there in the sixties Mammoth had a population of 605 and Crowley Lake had 32, including my daughter wife and myself. It was a great place back then, but has since been destroyed by flatlanders!

  3. sailmama says:

    Steve,
    Have loved reading your daily posts! You always make me laugh, turning every day into so kind of adventure.

    Agree with Ellie & Bill – boo to CLOTHES ( socks?? real shoes??). Brrrr. We are in Aztec NM after three heavenly nights in the national forest NW of Jemez Springs. This is an urban RV park next to the Aztec Ruins National Monument-hard to take after the silence, privacy and peace in tall pine country in the recently renovated San Antonio Campground.

Leave a Reply

