4/17/2015 – Uketube

Want to see what I’ve been doing when I should have been writing blogs?

Yodel it with me: You-ku-lay-LEE-tube

IMG_4889

About sryoder

Steve & Lulu... retired. Had enough of the cold wet dreary fall/winter/spring in the Pacific Northwest. Bought a boat, fixed it up, sold our home and sailed to Mexico in November, 2010. Been here ever since except for occasional forays to the States (summer only, thank you) to visit the kids, parents and siblings. If you're looking for a sailing blog, this is the wrong place. This is a traveling, hunkering in, eating blog. Sailing is just how we get from place to place when we can't walk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 4/17/2015 – Uketube

  1. Richard Nowak says:

    Hey Steve…..these are great music videos! Looking forward to hearing more…..you could probably make a pretty good chunk of change playing some of the gin joints down here a couple days a week….hope you guys are doing well in PP….Seeya

    yodersaflo

    • sryoder says:

      Thanks Rich, but it’s more likely to be like the tag line one of the my fellow ukester’s uses: “Will play for free. Will stop for money.”

  2. jamesdane says:

    Just checked out your music video’s! When does the tour start? I think you must have put all the time bobbing out in the Sea of Cortez to good use. Nice job, I enjoyed them.

  3. Cristina & Victor says:

    Do you know anybody that can play the ukulele during our beach wedding ceremony in Rocky Point, Las Palomas Resort?

    • sryoder says:

      Sorry but so far I have not met even one other person in Rocky Point that plays the uke. And I’m definitely not wedding-ready. If you find someone, let me know. I’ve been trying unsuccessfully to get an ukulele group started.

      -Steve

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Cristina & Victor says:

        You are definitely wedding ready! I watched your videos 😊 All I need is someone to play maybe 2-3 songs before ceremony starts just as a prelude as people are coming to the beach to sit down. Songs like http://youtu.be/0MxIeb-fwWk

      • sryoder says:

        I finally got a minute to watch the video of Corey. Absolutely no way am I at that level yet and may never be. Chords and strumming, you bet. Having all ten fingers on both hands doing their own individual things, definitely not there yet, though I wish I could get there just by watching videos and not have to actually put the work in. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. -Steve

        Sent from my iPad

        >

  4. Donald Strong says:

    It has been a year since you signed off. Miss you.

    • sryoder says:

      Hi Don. Yeah, it has been a while hasn’t it? I thought about reviving it for my hardcore readers who don’t care whether or not what we’re doing is interesting but then I decided against it, at least for now. It’s one thing to tell everyone what we’re doing when we’re constantly on the move. But, when we’re pretty stationary and have a fixed base of operations, it doesn’t seem wise to broadcast on the internet that we’re going to be gone for a couple of weeks touring national parks in Utah, for instance. Talk about an invitation to have our house robbed! I still miss writing sometimes although I don’t miss feeling like I’m obligated to write whether I feel like I have anything to say or not. I really appreciate the folks like you who stuck with us through all those long-winded accounts of what we were doing.

      Just to bring you up to date: We bought a little house (ca. 1920) in Bisbee, Arizona where Flipper sits in the side yard patiently awaiting her next trip. We also have the glorified trailer in Puerto Peñasco for those times that we’re seriously in need of a Mexico fix. Siempre Sabado is on the hard in San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico and is currently listed for sale.

      You never know. Someday, I might send out another blog Just to see who’s still out there. Maybe I can overcome the security issue by not posting in real time. I guess it doesn’t really matter if we visited the Grand Canyon this morning or three weeks ago as long as the blog itself is written when it happened, even if it’s not going to actually be posted for another week or two. real time is better and more fun but I suppose some compromises could be made.

      Anyway, thanks for your loyalty, Don and maybe we’ll see you around somewhere, sometime.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  5. sailmama says:

    Well, we miss your blog, too, but fully understand why you are not posting these days. I wrote you a long comment here but the WordPress gods intervened (wouldn’t allow my ancient pw), so it disappeared while I “left here” to get a new one.

    Shorter version: we are in Long Beach plotting a scenic, slow route up to Vancouver CA. Will be digging through your past posts to find your trips up that direction. Know you shared valuable info. Email your doings when you can!

Leave a Reply

